South West Rocks Public School

Academic excellence in a caring, co-operative and courteous environment

Telephone02 6566 6208

Our staff

Get to know our school staff. We're all here to help.

Our professional, university-educated teachers encourage students to develop a love of learning and a desire to succeed. They maintain the highest integrity and concern for your child’s wellbeing.

The principal is responsible for the educational leadership and management of our school. If you would like to speak to the principal, please contact us to make an appointment.

Our school administrative staff can answer inquiries or direct you to the appropriate staff member for help.

Teaching Staff 2024


  • Mrs Penny Chow - Principal 
  • Mrs Stacey Layton - Assistant Principal Stage 3 (Years 5 & 6)
  • Mr Paul Lynch - Assistant Principal Stage 2 (Years 3 & 4)
  • Mrs Alarna Garthon - Assistant Principal Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten) and Stage 1 (Years 1 & 2)
  • Mrs Melissa Elsley - Assistant Principal Curriculum and Instructional (K-6), responsible for supporting all teachers in quality teaching practice


Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)

  • KO: Mrs Mhairi Overall
  • KF: Miss Lucy Flanagan
Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2)
  • 1/2G: Mrs Alarna Garthon* (M-W) and Mr Michael Tyerman (Th-F)
  • 1/2R: Mrs Kylie Robinson
  • 1/2J: Ms Janita Smith
  • 1/2E: Miss Emily Stewart
  • 2/3K: Mrs Helen King (M-W) and Mrs Leah Morrison (Th-F)
Stage 2 (Year 3 and Year 4)
  • 2/3K: Mrs Helen King (M-W) and Mrs Leah Morrison (Th-F)
  • 3M: Mrs Kristy Maynard
  • 4B: Mr Jason Baker
  • 4PB: Mrs Alice Partridge (M-T) and Ms Sarah Barrell (W-F)
Stage 3 (Year 5 and Year 6)
  • 5R: Ms Belinda Reid
  • 5/6C: Mr Tye Cameron
  • 5/6L: Mrs Stacey Layton* (M-Th) and Ms Paige Stewart (F)

Additional 2024 teaching staff:

  • Library Teacher: Mrs Aimee Coonee
  • History/geography RFF teacher (M-W): Mr Michael Tyerman
  • Support teacher: Ms Paige Stewart

Learning and Support staff:

Our specialised staff include:

  • School counsellor: Ms Shannon Mitchell
  • Learning and support Teacher: Mrs Angela Mainey

School Administrative and Support (SASS) Staff

Aboriginal Education Officer (AEO)

  • Mr Malcom Webster

School Learning Support Officers (SLSO)

  • Mrs Eva Baker
  • Ms Julie Knox
  • Miss Kirralea Silvia
  • Miss Brielle Woodger
  • Ms Susan Elliott
  • Miss Sarah Hughes
  • Mrs Leah Taylor
  • Mrs Christine Matthes
  • Mrs Judith Wright
  • Mr Andrew Lewis

General Assistant

  • Mr Josh Smith      
  • Mr Daniel Grolez

Cleaning Staff

  • Mrs Gai Coates

Office Staff

School Administration Manager (SAM):

  • Mrs Diana Cruckshank

School Administration Officers (SAO):

  • Mrs Jane Roberts
  • Ms Sandy Rueeger
  • Mrs Darlene Woodger
  • Mrs Suse Moen


As a reminder, we have four ‘STAGES’ in primary school.

  • EARLY STAGE 1 (Kindergarten only)
  • STAGE 1 (Year 1 and Year 2)
  • STAGE 2 (Year 3 and Year 4)
  • STAGE 3 (Year 5 and Year 6)

Stages 4, 5 and 6 continue in high school.